Various Map Making Questions.

AJ59

1. How important are the following procedures?

Cover Point Generation?

Cubemap Generation?

Lightmap Generation?

Silhoulette Generation?

In this case I started with one of the game maps so I suspect most of these are already there. But I also suspect some need to be redone depending on the changes I make to the map objects.

2. What do all those yellow things do in the game?

3. How can I control the amount of light or dark inside a building? Close off windows or block them with trees, etc.. then redo the Cubemap and Lightmaps?

4. Trying to move objects or units around with the mouse can be extremely frustrating. Besides the Ctrl UpArrow or Ctrl DnArrow... are there any more?

That's it for now!

Would UBI sue us if we copied the Tutorials into the Wiki and then added more information to it?

I am just learning this stuff too...but I'll have a go at sharing what I know...

1. How important are the following procedures?

Cover Point Generation?

According to the pdf, not very. These are additional cover points. The game will play perfectly well without additional cover points being generated. The objects (buildings, cars etc) already have their own cover points built in. I usually choose maps that have some varability in the terain though, ie potholes etc., and in this case, it's worth it to create cover points.

Cubemap Generation?

Magic

Lightmap Generation?

If you make changes to the large objects on the map you'll need to regen. the lightmap (ie. removing a building). Best avoided as it will take a LOOOONG time (ie. go to sleep). If you are just placing walls, cars etc. i do not bother with it.

Silhoulette Generation?

In this case I started with one of the game maps so I suspect most of these are already there. But I also suspect some need to be redone depending on the changes I make to the map objects.