Changing Day to Night

wwoody23

I wasn't sure whether to post this question in "mission modding" or "map modding".

But since it deals with maps, I chose to post it here.

I am new at mission modding and I am currently building a mod.

What I would like to do is change the "caves" map to a night enviroment using Igor.

Page 127 of the "Igor guide" talks about the "Enviroment File Editor" and makes it seem simple to change a skybox setting and create a new env. file for each condition.

Well, I made a new Env. for caves using a "dusk_skybox.pob" for the skybox.

I can save the file, but when I try to load it in the map edit screen and save the mission, Igor crashes!?

Can anyone out here tell me where I'm going wrong?

Perhaps it's as simple as where I save my env. file in relationship to the map?

Does the env. file need to be in the same folder as the origanal map?

All I want to do is change the "caves" map from a day enviroment to a night one.

Even a link to a tutorial or a step by step method that someone uses?

Thanks wwoody :unsure:

Edited by wwoody23

I assume you've created your New mod folder first?

Open Igor, the under file select mods, then check your new mod is activated there.Then load up your mission file that uses your new env.

I have a new mod started, but when I load my env. file into the map editer and save, it crashes Igor.

I copied my file into the orig miss - cave map-folder it works, but that means no one else can use it unless I copy the whole map folder to my mod?

That don't seem right?

Also the dusk skybox still doesn't change the caves map from day to night!!

Just want to change the caves map to a night enviroment?

K you've created you new Mod folder ie "MyMod" which contains a .txt file Modscont.txt, and Map/Mission/Model/ etc folders yes??