Jump to content

Ghost Recon Future Soldier


Photo

Windows 8 and GR1


12 replies to this topic

#1 Colin

Colin

    Ghost - 1st Class

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,113 posts

Posted 03 November 2012 - 12:06 PM

Hi guys, well my old PC packed up the other day and I got a new Laptop with Windows 8 I know yuk.

Well GR 1 CD installs fine but DS gets to 36% and I get this failed to read Data.Cab Cyclic bla bla.

Tried the normal load file to Dtop but same error at the same place.

Also re installed using windows xp setting, it worked fine on xp and windows 7.

I have a feeling it might be a Drive error and not a disk error but what do you guys think. ??
Posted Image

#2 Blame

Blame

    Pointman - 2nd Class

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 987 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Estonia

Posted 03 November 2012 - 12:47 PM

Windows 8 is ugly...

#3 Hammer

Hammer

    Ghost - 3rd Class

  • GR.net Supporter
  • 1,822 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The land of our fathers, Cymru am Byth

Posted 03 November 2012 - 01:09 PM

Hi guys, well my old PC packed up the other day and I got a new Laptop with Windows 8 I know yuk.

Well GR 1 CD installs fine but DS gets to 36% and I get this failed to read Data.Cab Cyclic bla bla.

Tried the normal load file to Dtop but same error at the same place.

Also re installed using windows xp setting, it worked fine on xp and windows 7.

I have a feeling it might be a Drive error and not a disk error but what do you guys think. ??


I think your an idiot for buying a lap top with W8 on ! :whack:

Does TS work on it ?
Posted Image
Men of Harlech onto glory, This shall ever be your story
Keep this fighting words before ye, Welshmen will not yield
.

#4 RileyFletcher_01

RileyFletcher_01

    Ghost - 1st Class

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,060 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

Posted 03 November 2012 - 01:15 PM

WHAT ARE WE GOING TO DO WHEN THEY STOP MAKING GR-COMPATIBLE SYSTEMS???

:bye:

#5 Colin

Colin

    Ghost - 1st Class

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,113 posts

Posted 03 November 2012 - 01:38 PM

I think your an idiot for buying a lap top with W8 on ! :whack:
Does TS work on it ?


Yes on now.


I think there is a way round it just need to do some leg work.
Posted Image

#6 Colin

Colin

    Ghost - 1st Class

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,113 posts

Posted 03 November 2012 - 11:33 PM

Well Ghost Recon does work with windows 8 and it looks great too.

The problem was the file on the disk, not the game or the OS.

Thanks Chris for the help.

As far as W8OS goes if you like 7 stay with it.
Posted Image

#7 Tinker

Tinker

     

  • Staff
  • 7,806 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 17 November 2012 - 09:57 PM

Any updates with this Colin?

Has anyone else played ghost recon on W8?

:ermm:
Posted Image

#8 Colin

Colin

    Ghost - 1st Class

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,113 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 12:18 AM

Hi Tink yer, on my system MSI GT 780DXR WINDOWS 8 ULTIMATE.
Game was crashing, but the other main problem I had was I just hated the new interface I`m afraid I am a desktop man.

So with these two things I uninstalled it and put on Win7.
Now all is fine in the world.

Windows 8 will not be for me.
Posted Image

#9 WDA_Slayer

WDA_Slayer

    Recruit - 2nd Class

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 69 posts

Posted 21 March 2013 - 04:28 AM

But it is possible to get it installed and working on Windows 8, correct?  I'm on a modern W8 PC (I actually like W8) and want to try OGR (Original GR) a try again.  Been years, but far and away the best PC game I've ever played.

 

I'll give it a go and report back.

 

PS...glad to be back, first post in many years, glad my log-in credentials still worked.


Posted Image

#10 ApexMods

ApexMods

     

  • Consultant
  • 2,045 posts
  • XFire:ApexMods
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:World Wide Web

Posted 21 March 2013 - 09:19 PM

Should work fine on Weight... err... Wait... err... W8.  ;)

 

But seriously, the only issue I heard about is the save locations for options etc. which W8 apparently moves out of the game folder and into the user folder for some reason, and consequently the game may not recognize options changes properly in some cases (oddly enough it seems to work fine in others).

 

Looking forward to your report.  :thumbsup:



#11 WDA_Slayer

WDA_Slayer

    Recruit - 2nd Class

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 69 posts

Posted 22 February 2014 - 09:44 PM

Alright fellas.  I'm trying to get GR installed on my Windows 8.1 PC.  All three disks (GR, DS, IT) installed properly.  The game launched when it was just GR.  Then after installing DS and IT the game crashes shortly after launch.  I get the "ghost recon" logo screen, I see it pop up in task manager, then it crashes.  I've tried running as administrator and also compatibility mode to XP.  Still no luck.  How have others got it working on W8?


Posted Image

#12 twcrash

twcrash

    Pointman - 3rd Class

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 543 posts
  • XFire:nfmz1
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ocean View, New Jersey

Posted 22 February 2014 - 11:39 PM

OK,

Installed it on Windows 8.1 and had no issues what so ever. 

 

Used this version and installed was done in this order:

 

kzJ8K1ll.jpg

 

GR

Desert Siege

Desert Siege Patch

Island Thunder

Patch 1.4 ( I have a different 1.4 on this set that doesn't require a nocd maybe that is the difference?)

 

Anyways works fine here is the install page

 

TAPscW3l.jpg


Edited by twcrash, 22 February 2014 - 11:46 PM.

fs_0f5fd924488deae81ee8abd8ddb26375.png


#13 WDA_Slayer

WDA_Slayer

    Recruit - 2nd Class

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 69 posts

Posted 23 February 2014 - 01:09 AM

Got it working!  Thanks.  I had to set compatibility mode to start the game in 640x480 resolution.  Works great.


Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users