Jump to content

Ghost Recon Future Soldier


Photo

Ubi PC Titles To Require Online Authentication


271 replies to this topic

#181 WhiteKnight77

WhiteKnight77

    Ghost - 1st Class

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 10,072 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Smyrna, GA

Posted 09 March 2010 - 08:03 AM

apparently it's happening again

Our servers are under attack again. Some gamers are experiencing trouble signing in. We're working on it and will keep you posted."


:wall: :wall: :wall:

#182 Pave Low

Pave Low

     

  • Admin
  • 4,774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge, UK

Posted 09 March 2010 - 05:37 PM

Login servers were partially reestablished at 10pm CET and fully restored at 1am CET.

The attack affected only those trying to login

:blink: oh well, that's ok then <_<
Posted Image

Posted Image . Posted Image . Posted Image . Posted Image . Posted Image .Posted Image . Posted Image

Posted Image . Posted Image . Posted Image . Posted Image

#183 thales100

thales100

    Ghost - 1st Class

  • GR.net Supporter
  • 2,503 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Goiás - Brazil

Posted 10 March 2010 - 01:02 AM

Just bought AC2 PC.

Let us know how the game installs from start to finish if you don't mind mate. Let us know what ubisoft master server is like, and could you give us a quick insight to what game engine they use, and are the graphics rubbish, mediocre, bland. I'm still thinking about buying splinter cell conviction for the pc but there is no information i can find about the engine, the graphics etc. I have a small games cash flow left so i don't want to waste money on a poor pc version of sc conviction, it would make me really angry if the game is rubbish and have to be online constant to play sp.

Only seen videos screenshots of the console version of sc conviction and it looks bland. I presume ac2 is using the same engine?.


Thanks.


Well, the game is great, the DRM worked perfectly fine here (till now hehe).
I bought the Steam version, it installs as any other game, auto updates etc...
Then a steam msg box shows your cd-key, you can copy it and paste in the UBI login box (its required just once) plus your UBI login and password - next time you play nothing of this is required, its all auto.
The engine is the same of AC1, GFX is good, maybe a bit better than the first.

Posted Image
Posted Image

#184 CR6

CR6

     

  • Consultant
  • 3,230 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 March 2010 - 02:30 AM

The attack affected only those trying to login

:blink: oh well, that's ok then <_<

LOL! Perhaps Thales can tell us is there a difference between logging in and just playing the game? Why would people want to login? Is it just to register the game for the first time or for playing MP?

I thought the AC series was using the Unreal Engine (which Ubi used for Splinter Cell, R6 Vegas) but Googling around it appears it is a proprietary engine "Anvil" developed by Ubi and also used in the last PoP game.

#185 thales100

thales100

    Ghost - 1st Class

  • GR.net Supporter
  • 2,503 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Goiás - Brazil

Posted 10 March 2010 - 10:52 AM

Yes you need to login (inserting cd-key, ubi account and password) for the first time, lets say "registering" your copy - after that, its all auto, just launch game and play, all info is saved.
Posted Image

#186 =warcloud=

=warcloud=

    Pointman - 1st Class

  • GR.net Supporter
  • 1,258 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GB

Posted 10 March 2010 - 02:53 PM

Well, from what thales100 has posted about his experience with Ubisoft's drm ...all is ok then, people moaned for the sake of moaning ?, mind you i was guilty too :D
Posted Image

#187 NoQuarter

NoQuarter

    Ghost - 2nd Class

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,094 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Somewhere Out There

Posted 11 March 2010 - 07:35 AM

...all is ok then,

By this you mean by those resigned to accepting these new conditions as just an additional cost of doing business with Ubi?
____
Just what will they think up next...and just how much will you put up with?


#188 thales100

thales100

    Ghost - 1st Class

  • GR.net Supporter
  • 2,503 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Goiás - Brazil

Posted 11 March 2010 - 10:32 AM

By this you mean by those resigned to accepting these new conditions as just an additional cost of doing business with Ubi?
____
Just what will they think up next...and just how much will you put up with?


You pay for a license to play the game under some specific conditions, if you dont agree with those conditions (DRM included), simply dont buy it. :thumbsup:
Posted Image

#189 WhiteKnight77

WhiteKnight77

    Ghost - 1st Class

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 10,072 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Smyrna, GA

Posted 11 March 2010 - 02:50 PM

How do you know what all the restrictions are unless you read the EULA? You can't read it unless you open the product and try to install it. Once opened, at least here in the States, it is near impossible to return it whether you installed it or not.

#190 Sgt. Atoa

Sgt. Atoa

    Scout - 1st Class

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Puerto Rico

Posted 11 March 2010 - 05:38 PM

I'm going to give UBI some credit because today I saw the Silent Hunter retail box @ Best Buy and it does says on the front cover that you need constant internet connection to play the game, another game that I saw with the same front cover disclamer is Napoleon Total War.

thales your experience with your games doesn't equal the experience of anybody else in the planet mind you but also you are right on what you said (Don't like'it, Don't buy'it) is that simple.

I don't think this type of DRM is going away any time soon UBI plans is to provide STEAM experience on their own and they already invested $$ on uplay just like IW with their iwnet

#191 WhiteKnight77

WhiteKnight77

    Ghost - 1st Class

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 10,072 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Smyrna, GA

Posted 12 March 2010 - 12:26 AM

I was in Best Buy today and looked at both SH5 (2 copies on the shelf) and AC2 (about 5 copies on the shelf) and both have the disclaimer on the box. I will post the pics of the SH5 box shortly.

#192 WhiteKnight77

WhiteKnight77

    Ghost - 1st Class

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 10,072 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Smyrna, GA

Posted 12 March 2010 - 02:28 AM

Here are the pics I said I was gonna post. They are of SH5 and both the front and the back show that a permanent internet connection is required and the back shows that game saves are synched online.

Posted Image
Posted Image

ACII has the same notations.

#193 firefly2442

firefly2442

    Ghost - 1st Class

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,294 posts
  • XFire:firefly2442
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 12 March 2010 - 05:58 AM

I wonder if people would be more willing to buy into a more locked down hardware system (essentially a console) in order to prevent this constant requirement for Internet access. It doesn't seem like DRM is being pushed at all on the consoles. Maybe the next console versions will be DLC only?

#194 Tinker

Tinker

     

  • Staff
  • 7,806 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 12 March 2010 - 09:57 AM

Ubisoft will "compensate" people who've had problems connecting to their DRM servers

Source

Now if someone was unable to login, how are they to know who they were?
Posted Image

#195 thales100

thales100

    Ghost - 1st Class

  • GR.net Supporter
  • 2,503 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Goiás - Brazil

Posted 12 March 2010 - 10:46 AM

Ubisoft will "compensate" people who've had problems connecting to their DRM servers


Rip the hackers apart ? :devil:
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users