Jump to content

Ghost Recon Future Soldier


Photo

Third Person Mod


221 replies to this topic

#46 Beers

Beers

    Recruit - 2nd Class

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 117 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted 19 June 2006 - 04:26 PM

I made another video to better illustrate the 3rd person mode. I wasn't going to bother uploading this but it apears i uploaded it anyway so i may aswell post it.

http://nemon.myby.co...hirdPerson2.wmv

Nice :) , it looks like all that needs to be done is fix the position of the camera, and fix it from not following the guy left and right (woohoo!).

*I still can't believe you keymapped it!!!

Edited by Beers, 19 June 2006 - 04:26 PM.

______________________
Asus sk8v motherboard
Amd fx-53
Sapphire x1950pro 512mb agp
1 gig pc 3200 kingston hyperX ram
250gig 7200rpm 16mb cache ide harddrive
600w aspire psu
windows xp professional sp2
----Catalyst 7.4----

#47 Vth_F_Smith

Vth_F_Smith

    Scout - 1st Class

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 359 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted 19 June 2006 - 07:32 PM


I made another video to better illustrate the 3rd person mode. I wasn't going to bother uploading this but it apears i uploaded it anyway so i may aswell post it.

http://nemon.myby.co...hirdPerson2.wmv

Nice :) , it looks like all that needs to be done is fix the position of the camera, and fix it from not following the guy left and right (woohoo!).

*I still can't believe you keymapped it!!!

Uhm....no unfortunately that's not all that needs to be done. Mouse based orders for example are currently not working ATM. If you go prone the reticule stays about 5 feet above your head, instead of on your height. As soon as you move, the reticule is blocking your sight (which means you don't see what you're shooting at). And the script Nemon is using to keymap the FPV / TPV currently only works in the first mission etc. - there's still much work to be done! :(

But we're getting closer! :)

BTW: I also created a video using Nemon's script. What you are about to see by clicking this link, is the parashooting intro from the first mission - but this time in full 3rd person perspective.

http://www.distant-w...W-3rdPerson.wmv

At this point I'd like to apologize for some graphic issues, but unfortunately the game is not yet fully supporting 7900 GTX cards! :(

Edited by Vth_F_Smith, 20 June 2006 - 09:28 AM.

Posted Image
W[N]M Online | W[N]M on Facebook (engl.) | Vth_Freedom | Twitter: WNM_Online Posted Image
XBox Live: Vth_F_Smith | Vth_F - "The only way to win a war - is to prevent it (stealthy)!"

"Mankind has to put an end to war or war will put an end to mankind!" -. John Fitzgerald Kennedy

#48 Nemon

Nemon

    Recruit - 2nd Class

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 52 posts

Posted 20 June 2006 - 09:56 AM

I have a feeling that might be the only way to run in 3rd person mode. Tweaks to camera position and angle might be possible but i susspect it will only work the same way.

#49 Beers

Beers

    Recruit - 2nd Class

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 117 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted 20 June 2006 - 08:06 PM

I have a feeling that might be the only way to run in 3rd person mode. Tweaks to camera position and angle might be possible but i susspect it will only work the same way.

damn that was nuts! :) when you say "only work the same way" do you mean the level by level implementation you guys were talking about?
______________________
Asus sk8v motherboard
Amd fx-53
Sapphire x1950pro 512mb agp
1 gig pc 3200 kingston hyperX ram
250gig 7200rpm 16mb cache ide harddrive
600w aspire psu
windows xp professional sp2
----Catalyst 7.4----

#50 Vth_F_Smith

Vth_F_Smith

    Scout - 1st Class

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 359 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted 21 June 2006 - 10:13 PM


I have a feeling that might be the only way to run in 3rd person mode. Tweaks to camera position and angle might be possible but i susspect it will only work the same way.

damn that was nuts! :) when you say "only work the same way" do you mean the level by level implementation you guys were talking about?

I think he meant exactly that! :(
Posted Image
W[N]M Online | W[N]M on Facebook (engl.) | Vth_Freedom | Twitter: WNM_Online Posted Image
XBox Live: Vth_F_Smith | Vth_F - "The only way to win a war - is to prevent it (stealthy)!"

"Mankind has to put an end to war or war will put an end to mankind!" -. John Fitzgerald Kennedy

#51 Beers

Beers

    Recruit - 2nd Class

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 117 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted 21 June 2006 - 11:08 PM

I think he meant exactly that! :(

Personally I don't mind, but for mp it might be difficult. That brings the whole idea of a server and client version and what not...

*I like sp coop right now so :thumbsup: , Im going to have everyone of my coop buddies dl/add lines to .xml, when it's out/ready.

Edited by Beers, 21 June 2006 - 11:37 PM.

______________________
Asus sk8v motherboard
Amd fx-53
Sapphire x1950pro 512mb agp
1 gig pc 3200 kingston hyperX ram
250gig 7200rpm 16mb cache ide harddrive
600w aspire psu
windows xp professional sp2
----Catalyst 7.4----

#52 Nemon

Nemon

    Recruit - 2nd Class

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 52 posts

Posted 22 June 2006 - 05:03 PM

Well yes if it has to be on a per mission file basis that's easy todo. It's only about 5 lines of code and overriding the mod files in the bundle is easy with the local folder dealy. Just pop the modded mission script in the local mod folder and it works fine.

What i actually meant was that the camera would tilt, rotate and aim as it does already. Im not sure that the aim mechanics for third person can be modded outside of just the camera distance and angle.

#53 Beers

Beers

    Recruit - 2nd Class

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 117 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted 23 June 2006 - 12:29 AM

Well yes if it has to be on a per mission file basis that's easy todo. It's only about 5 lines of code and overriding the mod files in the bundle is easy with the local folder dealy. Just pop the modded mission script in the local mod folder and it works fine.

What i actually meant was that the camera would tilt, rotate and aim as it does already. Im not sure that the aim mechanics for third person can be modded outside of just the camera distance and angle.

Hey, did the new patch help with the prone situation, your able to look down at the character now, no? :)

*also does the zoom work with thirdperson? If not, I have an idea... maybe you can trigger the firstperson event when you right click as well, that way it goes into the zoom using first person. (hope that helps.)

Edited by Beers, 23 June 2006 - 12:32 AM.

______________________
Asus sk8v motherboard
Amd fx-53
Sapphire x1950pro 512mb agp
1 gig pc 3200 kingston hyperX ram
250gig 7200rpm 16mb cache ide harddrive
600w aspire psu
windows xp professional sp2
----Catalyst 7.4----

#54 Beers

Beers

    Recruit - 2nd Class

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 117 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted 23 June 2006 - 05:39 PM

Hey guys GRiN_Wille aperciated the work you guys have done :)

oh , im sorry, I followed the thread earlier but must have missed this progress!
we wont add a 3rd person mode but ill be happy to try it out once its finished!:)

looks neat, keep it up! :) :)

http://www.ghostreco...showtopic=36427

Edited by Beers, 23 June 2006 - 05:43 PM.

______________________
Asus sk8v motherboard
Amd fx-53
Sapphire x1950pro 512mb agp
1 gig pc 3200 kingston hyperX ram
250gig 7200rpm 16mb cache ide harddrive
600w aspire psu
windows xp professional sp2
----Catalyst 7.4----

#55 Vth_F_Smith

Vth_F_Smith

    Scout - 1st Class

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 359 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted 23 June 2006 - 07:49 PM

YAY! :grin3:

Well as I already said: Grin rocks! :grin1:

Edited by Vth_F_Smith, 23 June 2006 - 07:53 PM.

Posted Image
W[N]M Online | W[N]M on Facebook (engl.) | Vth_Freedom | Twitter: WNM_Online Posted Image
XBox Live: Vth_F_Smith | Vth_F - "The only way to win a war - is to prevent it (stealthy)!"

"Mankind has to put an end to war or war will put an end to mankind!" -. John Fitzgerald Kennedy

#56 FIN-Ravager

FIN-Ravager

    Recruit - 3rd Class

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 24 June 2006 - 02:56 AM

<OFF-TOPIC>

YAY! :grin3:

Well as I already said: Grin rocks! :grin1:


Wish we had such a dedicated team working on our dear SvM as well. <_<

</OFF-TOPIC>

I can't wait to try this one out. According to those videos, using this in MP can be rather tricky, but in SP/Coop it would definetly rock. I'll have my eye on this now then...

#57 Kakanater

Kakanater

    Scout - 3rd Class

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 268 posts

Posted 24 June 2006 - 03:10 AM

Like Grin Willie said GRAW for PC isn't made for 3rd person. Besides if it became third person then you won't get to see the textures as well as in first. But I wouldn't mind 3rd Person :whistle:
Posted Image

#58 Beers

Beers

    Recruit - 2nd Class

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 117 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted 24 June 2006 - 05:37 AM

Like Grin Willie said GRAW for PC isn't made for 3rd person. Besides if it became third person then you won't get to see the textures as well as in first. But I wouldn't mind 3rd Person :whistle:

Nah, you see the gun textures and everything fine, watch the videos...

Edited by Beers, 24 June 2006 - 05:37 AM.

______________________
Asus sk8v motherboard
Amd fx-53
Sapphire x1950pro 512mb agp
1 gig pc 3200 kingston hyperX ram
250gig 7200rpm 16mb cache ide harddrive
600w aspire psu
windows xp professional sp2
----Catalyst 7.4----

#59 Dimz_RR

Dimz_RR

    Recruit - 1st Class

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 127 posts

Posted 24 June 2006 - 11:28 PM

yeah SvM is kinda lackin talent i think ...

like linkn and all them are pwnin , thats sad :alien:

BTW ANYONE KNOW WHERE TEM GOGGLES ARE , I WANNA MAKE SOME OAKLEY'S \O/

Edited by Dimz_RR, 25 June 2006 - 12:09 AM.


#60 Beers

Beers

    Recruit - 2nd Class

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 117 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted 25 June 2006 - 12:58 AM

yeah SvM is kinda lackin talent i think ...

like linkn and all them are pwnin , thats sad :alien:

BTW ANYONE KNOW WHERE TEM GOGGLES ARE , I WANNA MAKE SOME OAKLEY'S \O/

What are you talking about? (I did not understand you) :(
______________________
Asus sk8v motherboard
Amd fx-53
Sapphire x1950pro 512mb agp
1 gig pc 3200 kingston hyperX ram
250gig 7200rpm 16mb cache ide harddrive
600w aspire psu
windows xp professional sp2
----Catalyst 7.4----




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users