Kafee Soundpack For Ghost Recon

Hoak

Kafee Soundpack For Ghost Recon

Author: Kafee

File Size: 7Mb

Download

Reviewed By: Hoak

Well Kafee requested a review, and as an experienced Sound Designer I thought I should attempt one as sound is frequently one of the most ignored and misunderstood aspects of realism game design.

A Little Background

Kafee is up against some stiff comparisons as the [Ghost Recon] sounds were recorded and post produced by SOUNDELUX DMG; widely regarded as 'the' premiere Sound Design/Effects studio for film, advertising and games. But Ghost Recon offers the advantage of excellent source material -- that arguably could greatly benefit from better post production (IMHO anyway).

Presently no game engine's sound renderer correctly scales sounds for first and third person perspectives, or steradians (solid angles) -- and this is especially noticeable with weapon sounds if you've heard the real thing. Game engines sound renderers employ simple amplitude algorithms and crude EAX, Miles or other environmental DSP that for distance culling that amounts to little more then EQ and volume. While this is a workable solution it's hardly state of the art, and if weapons are distance recorded as Ghost Recon's sounds were, then played in a first person perspective they'll sound rather insipid and weak -- as Ghost Recon's sounds do.

Near-field recording weapons fire sounds is extremely difficult; no microphone made that has any manner of fidelity can record the shock wave off a rifle without gross overload and even damage. Done right though near-field recording can yield much more articulate results as game engine sound renderers work more consistently with anechoic first person perspective sounds -- DSP-ing a more convincing distance or third person perspective. But most of all first person perspective is the one we hear most intimately and lends the most of the 'feel' to the game of that most interactive aspect of tactical realism 'our weapon'...