Accuracy, realism and distances.

Since 2003 ghost recon has always been installed in every single computer I had. It's one of my favorite games of all times, and maybe the best Single Player military simulator. (I won't say multiplayer too, because I haven't played it a lot online, and I don't want to start a ARMA vs GR discussion). We all know its flaws. For me, the greatest flaw is it's enemy accuracy.

I've been using droopy's enemy realism for a long time now, and it always made things a lot better. But then, Heroes Unleashed came out, and I couldn't use it if I wanted to use some of the several kits HU gave us. So I decided to change HU Equips stats myself. In my dreams... Too much guns to edit manually, too much work. I started playing HU unedited, and it's supposed to reduce the deadly accuracy of the enemy, and it does. But it does a lot less than droopy's, and I still thought they still were superhuman Russians. Poor ghosts. Half my squad went down and I didn't even find the enemy.

But then I thought of something. I took out my binoculars, took cover and started looking for the ###### who shot me. He was standing on the open, 100m away. And I finally understood everything. They aren't too accurate, it's just that I always had small monitors! Every AI entity in the game didn't think we were too far, but 100m for me, in my computer screen, looked like 1kilometer! Just take a look at these screenshots:

4tpysp.jpg

Do you see the bunker? Can you see someone inside of it? How far would you guess it is?

14j2179.jpg

Now with the weapon zoom.

1owvte.jpg

And now with the binoculars. Now you can see who you're supposed to shoot.