Ghost Recon.net Forums
PONDLIFE

[best tactic to use when entering buildings?]

Can someone give me any tips on whats the best tactic to use when entering buildings? I'm currently playing Island Thunder on Single player and Veteran settings but when ever i try to open doors to buildings i tend to get shot before ive even had chance to enter room or line up a shot. Ive even tried to set up Alpha and Bravo to enter by computer AI to storm buildings by using different doors but still my teams get taken out! anyone?????

I take it that you are probably on the second mission.

The AI in GR are pretty dumb, and predictable, so I just position myself to the right or left of the door and open it. Then I toss a grenade into the door and back off just a bit to get out of the way of the blast.

I always have Bravo on the other side of the door so I quickly switch and shoot up anyone on the other side of the room that survives the blast.

Of course there is the total noob method. Take the OICW and then from a distance blast the front door open. Then immediately launch a barage of grenades into the entire room while sweeping from left to right or right to left getting a view into the room from various angles.

Of course you can to this with the M16 with M203, if you feel "cheap" using the noob cannon.

Good luck!

I usually take a frag to the door, then take a SAW to cover my approach as I move closer to the door. Or, a frag to blast open the door, then throw another in. That will usually clear out any immediate threat and you can crouch next to the door as slowly shuffle in.

I enjoy room clearing. :g_guns:

Here we go here go here we go![/AmericasArmy]

Never stand in the doorway to open a door. Don't be afraid to fire on the move (preferably the shuffle, default: left Alt). Peak around corners. Use M67 fragmention grenades. Use the M203 UGL to clear rooms from the outside if they have non-boarded up windows.