Ghost Recon.net Forums
JTF-2

Help Choosing Parts. which 939 mobo?

I've done a bit of research on picking out some new parts for me PC (Thank you gr.net "search" and everyone of these boards). It's been more than 2 years since i've last upgraded, so i need a new motherboard, cpu, and vid card to run GRAW (my currents parts were mid-range even when new).

I'd like to get the best performance per $$ 'cause i'm a student and money is real tight. But, I do have a job, and I'm not eating dirt yet, so no more than about $700 CDN for everything (mobo, cpu, vid card).

My basic goal is to get the low end models of the latest tech. They should last longest this way. Also, I don't get home until May, so i've got until then to sort everything out.

My main problem is Motherboard. I've done some searching. I'd prefer AMD. Seems I want socket 939. But then what? there are so many. I'd also like to go ASUS. Here is one deal I found:

Mobo & CPU bundle from "tigerdirect.ca"

item # MBM-A8N5X-3500

Asus A8N5X NVIDIA 939 + AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.20 OEM (1600 bus)

-----$338-----incl. $30 rebate.

For video cards, I'd like ATI. They're Canadian and have been great in the past. Here is what i've found:

Vid Cards from "tigerdirect.ca

item # A177-3094

ATI Radeon X1600 Pro, 512 mb DDR2

-----$368-----

item # A177-3046

ATI All-in-Wonder Radeon X800 XL, 256mb DDR

-----$380-----

item # A177-3100

ATI Radeon X1300 AiW '06 Edition, 256mb GDDR3, PCI-Express

-----$228-----

suggestions? mistakes? weak parts?

I know you guys see these helpless posts all the time. Thank You very much for any/all help you have time to provide.

Edited by JTF-2

That CPU and Mobo bundle sounds pretty good. Definately go socket 939. If your going lower end, then this package sounds very good to me. For a video card, I dont know much about ATi, (the last ATI I had was a ATI Rage xpert99 LMAO!) but I got the geforce 6800 GS for 260 canadian.